The Schools

My apologies for the absence. I’ve had my head buried in GMAT study and school research for the past few weeks trying to ensure that at least one of the following schools will decide against the infamous “ding.”

Last year I was seriously considering applying to business schools for admittance into the class of 2014, before determining that it would be best for me to gain another year’s experience in the workplace and to take some extra time to really plan out my career. I had some new opportunities at work via my second promotion in as many years, and still felt cloudy about what exactly I wanted from an MBA.

That additional patience has paid off in so many ways. Taking weeks, months even to just let the idea of a graduate degree stew in my mind has given me more depth on what I want from school, from my career, and at an even higher level in life. The dreams that I’d find myself scribbling on various Post-It notes developed into ideas and goals that were hashed out over a warm keyboard and numerous empty bottles of wine until they evolved into a one page “Personal Mission Statement.” I still refer to that page if those clouds try to settle back into my mind. You can’t fulfill your dreams until you have conceptual clarity over them.

In essence, I’ve found that what I need from a Business School is:

  • A team-based approach to learning with plenty of case study opportunities
  • A strong global outlook paired with a robust study abroad program
  • An excellent track record of placing graduates into strategy consulting careers
  • Research opportunities that may grow into further partnerships with the school
  • Successful student organizations, particularly an African Business Group

Most of all, I needed a school that was going to be a partner in this life journey, not just a stop along the way.

As you can tell, I don’t ask for much.

I believe in a team-based approach to learning because interpersonal skills can be developed using that method, and are necessary in today’s (and more importantly tomorrow’s) business climate. I need plenty of case study opportunities because I don’t come from the business world and diving into real life scenarios will get me acclimated much quicker.

I want my school to share my global outlook. I was raised in the states (God Bless the USA) but wasn’t born here, and as such I have always been the guy much more interested in the “World” section of the WSJ than any other. I could spend hours regaling you on my views of global economical trends and how the world will soon be less western-centric than at any other time since WWI, but luckily for my readers you can find most of my views neatly packaged in Fareed Zakaria‘s “The Post-American World: The Rise of the Rest.” It’s a fantastic read, trust me. But I digress. We are all global citizens, and I want my school to actively enable its students to be just that.

My school must have a strong record in placing graduates into consulting careers. Pretty simple. It’s how I want to start my post-MBA career, so the schools I apply to are going to be good at getting me there.

Research opportunities. This is something I added to my list after reading up on some of the schools. I was very impressed and surprised with research opportunities available to MBA students at two schools in particular. Researching organizational behavior, for example, its very interesting to me. I’ve gone on to order some books from professors at these schools to do some further exploration. This is where the school’s media campaigns really shine. You can get a clue into what the professors are up to when a school’s social media accounts, YouTube, Facebook, and email newsletters are well done.

Successful student organizations are a must because it is, in my opinion, the best way to network with your fellow classmates. Whether it’s a Consulting Club or Christian Fellowship Club or a Soccer Club, those connections that you make will hopefully last you a lifetime. And who knows, one of those people may end up hiring you, or vice-versa. My particular interest/lovechild/passion is in either joining or starting up an African Business Club. I’m African myself and I strongly feel that the continent has incredible growth potential. I want to get in on the ground floor of this both in terms of investment and also with some social enterprise involvement. I want to give back to Mother Africa, and I can’t think of a better way than by tapping into some of the future leaders of America and getting them involved. While they’re still relatively young and impressionable.

While researching the schools and programs (or programmes ;)) I continued referring back to this list of basic needs. In my case, once I had those needs described and understood the schools almost revealed themselves to me.

So without any further adieu, here is my (preliminary) school list in alphabetical order:

  • Fisher College of Business (Ohio State)
  • Fuqua School of Business (Duke)
  • Harvard Business School
  • Keenan-Flagler School of Business (North Carolina)
  • Kellogg School of Management (Northwestern)
  • London Business School
  • S.C. Johnson Graduate School of Management (Cornell)

So we have two Midwestern schools, two mid-Atlantic schools, two Northeastern schools and one all the way in London-town. It may seem like a mixed bag on it’s face, but once you dig into those schools they match very closely with the needs that I detailed above.

Let me head something off now. Ohio State is by NO MEANS a “safety school.” I don’t believe in that concept. Fisher is an up and coming program which will become one of the more sought after MBA programs as its reputation continues to increase. It also ticks off all of my listed needs (and then some in the case of consulting careers and research opportunities). In general, if you take the time to look beyond the Top-10 rankings sheet, you’ll find alot of schools with alot to like.

So, that’s my list. If you’ve made it this far into the post I commend you. I promise to keep things tighter next time.

Until then.

13 thoughts on “The Schools

  1. Hi,
    I would recommend to research Tuck Business school because Tuck is always considered synonyms to Teamwork. Try Tuck connections, its a wonderful resource to get connected. After your interactions you would surely consider Tuck.

    You might also want to go through my MBA journey blog for school research, I have been researching schools for more than 18 months now so please feel free to get in touch.

    Sanket.

      • Thanks for the comments, if you need some more inputs regarding Tuck then please let me know. I would be able to share some mail replies from Tuck students/ alumni.

  2. Pingback: Fridays From The Frontlines - Clear Admit Blog
  3. Hey, good luck with the school search! I really enjoyed when I was looking at schools and narrowing down which ones were good options- there are lots! Have you considered the Stanford GSB? I’ll be starting there this fall in the class of 2015 and am completely in love with the school already. I also just started a blog so that I can share a bit more of what it’s like with prospective applicants who are considering the school. If you have any questions about the GSB I’d be happy to share or to connect you with someone else who knows a bit more!

    Also, do you mind if I add you to my blogroll?

    backinthebay2015 : )

    • Hey thanks for reading!

      To be honest I never really considered Stanford as a realistic possibility for me…just due to the small class size that they admit. After doing more research I think I could take a stab at applying to GSB, but my knowledge level with that school is not as high as it is with some of my current targets. I’ll keep reading up on it and I’ll definitely peruse your blog for some insight!

      Congratulations on being admitted! That’s an incredible accomplishment! You’re headed for a world class b-school education and experience!

  4. I just took a break from studying and turned up here looking for my daily dose of motivation and fellow travelers in this GMAT journey! Have you given your GMAT yet? I am trying not to get too far ahead yet before my exam is over but I can’t wait to get the application process started. Hope you don’t mind me adding you to the blogroll!

    Cheers,

    • I don’t mind at all! As you can tell by my quick reply I’m catching up on my blog as we speak. I’m going to give yours a read as well!

      I haven’t taken the GMAT yet, but I’m feeling more and more confident with each session I can fit in. Life’s a bit hectic at the moment, but I hope to get it out of the way soon enough. Who wants to think about an exam when you could be writing those fun essays!?

      • Good luck with the GMAT. At least once it is done, I can get back to reading and writing blogs as a part of “introspection” and “research” and not feel guilty about wasting my time!

  5. Pingback: Essays! | The Poetic Quant
  6. Pingback: Let’s Catch Up | The Poetic Quant

Leave a Reply

