Hello.

“The most common commodity in this world is unrealized potential.”

~ Calvin Coolidge

This blog is about my journey toward an MBA, and beyond. But before we get into that you ought to know a bit about what brought me to this point.

PoeticQuant. Yes, a thinly veiled reference to a popular MBA website – but also a hint into what makes me tick. I hold a degree in Civil Engineering from a reputable university. Somehow, I found a way to translate my Engineering degree into a “Big Data” analytics role at my organization. I am also a techie, constantly scouring the web-verse for the newest technologies and devices that will make my life just that 1% better (while making it 10% more expensive). I have an app in the Apple AppStore, a home-made computer, … need I say more? Quant.

Then there is my other side. My deep rooted appreciation for literature and English. My mini library of books in my room (and like a true techie – in my Kindle). My fervent passion for writing (hence the blog) and my plan on one day putting down my family’s unique history to paper and becoming published. I’ve always scored better in writing/reading comprehension than in mathematics, GMAT included. Poet.

So we have a PoeticQuant. But why business school?

When I was early on in my undergraduate studies, I struggled with the decision of which major to pick. At one point I even considered double majoring in Civil Engineering and Finance, before a “Come-to-Jesus” talk with my father plugged me squarely into the engineering hole.

I have never once regretted my decision to become an engineer. It is as much a part of me as the business side will be, in the same way that my quantitative qualities will always share space with my “poetic” side. But in order to achieve my goals, or better stated, in order to continue my natural progression in my professional career, I need to use all of the talents that are at my disposal.

In a big picture sense, that’s the idea behind me going to business school. There are many more details that have to do with which particular schools I’m targeting, which career path that I’ve set out for myself, and the efforts that I’m going to make to get there. But if I spill all the beans in one post it wouldn’t do much for my future posts now would it?

Until next time.

6 thoughts on “Hello.

  1. Looks like you and I started blogging at about the same time, we’re both applying this fall, and we’re both civil engineers! How strange! Good luck in your application this year.

  2. I believe what you posted was very logical. But, what about this?
    what if you added a little content? I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your blog, however suppose you added a title that makes people desire more? I mean Hello. | The Poetic Quant is a little plain. You might peek at Yahoo’s
    front page and see how they create post headlines to get viewers to
    click. You might add a video or a related picture or two to get readers
    interested about everything’ve written. Just my opinion, it could bring your blog a little livelier.

    • Honestly I started this blog just as a way to write through the application process, I found it as a good stress relief. I am planning to add more multimedia in the next few posts.

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

